the icebreaker

The Icebreaker

the icebreakerAs most people in my office know, I have an irrational fear of the ultimate in networking activities…the ‘icebreaker’. The mere mention of this gets me into a bit of a panic because, inevitably, everyone will have a stock of interesting factoids about themselves that will portray them in a way that shows them to be an interesting, well-rounded person. When it comes to me though, my mind always blanks. After the session, something will have come to me that I should have said. But instead, I have undoubtedly said either the first thing that came to mind, or the most uninteresting fact that the whole room will have ‘swiftly moved on’.

Even now, at the mere mention of the word, I can’t think of a single thing that isn’t education related. And trust me, I do have a life outside of education and work. Maybe now it can be that I am a blogger. It is after all a little known fact and one that no-one in my office knows about. Hopefully now this means that I can put my fear to one side, embrace the icebreaker and actually do what you are meant to in these sessions, network.

Leave a Reply

