Nora Ephron

Above all, be the heroine of your life, not the victim - Nora EphronAs well as being the screenwriter of some of my favourite films of all time (Sleepless in Seattle, When Harry Met Sally and You’ve Got Mail), Nora Ephron had a fantastic outlook on life and in one particular commencement speech in 1996 when she returned to Wellesley College, she gave two of the greatest pieces of advice I think I have ever heard. The first is the image above, and the second is below.

“Whatever you choose, however many roads you travel, I hope that you choose not to be a lady. I hope you will find some way to break the rules and make a little trouble out there. And I also hope that you will choose to make some trouble on behalf of women.”

It is for this reason as well as the amazing quotes below that my hero of the month is Nora Ephron.

As a screenwriter, writer and blogger, there is plenty of material to choose from when you look back at any of the great things that Ephron wrote about. A couple of my favourites are below:

“I don’t think any day is worth living without thinking about what you’re going to eat next at all times.”

“Maintenance is what you have to do just so you can walk out the door knowing that if you go to the market and bump into a guy that once rejected you, you don’t have to hide behind a stack of canned food.”

And then there were the films…I have watched Nora Ephron’s films dozens of times, in fact, when I see the quotes below I can hear them being said by Tom Hanks, Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan as clear as day.

“So much of what I see reminds me of something I read in a book, when shouldn’t it be the other way around?”  You’ve Got Mail

“I love that you get cold when it’s 71 degrees out. I love that it takes you an hour and a half to order a sandwich. I love that you get a little crinkle above your nose when you’re looking at me like I’m nuts. I love that after I spend the day with you, I can still smell your perfume on my clothes. And I love that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep at night. And it’s not because I’m lonely, and it’s not because it’s New Year’s Eve. I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.”
When Harry Met Sally

“Well, it was a million tiny little things that, when you added them all up, they meant we were supposed to be together… and I knew it. I knew it the very first time I touched her. It was like coming home… only to no home I’d ever known… I was just taking her hand to help her out of a car and I knew. It was like… magic.” 
Sleepless in Seattle

“Destiny is something we’ve invented because we can’t stand the fact that everything that happens is accidental”
Sleepless in Seattle

I quoted Sleepless in Seattle several times,  I think that is partly because it was it was one of the first romantic comedies that I saw and it has somehow stuck with me and is probably the reason why my film collection is made up of so many romantic comedies.

And arguably, the last quote is probably the most applicable to me:

“That’s your problem! You don’t want to be in love. You want to be in love in a movie”
Sleepless in Seattle

Leave a Reply

