A Good read - Alejandro Escamilla

A Good Read

A Good read - Alejandro Escamilla

I love to read. Please don’t mistake me for a highbrow reader; instead I make the most of the free kindle books available and any books recommended by friends at the time. Don’t get me wrong, I would love to be the kind of person that is well read in those cult novels that everyone discusses and be able to offer my opinion on the classics, but alas, my taste is slightly more in the trashy novel direction. I justify my reading tastes by saying that I want something easy to read after a long day at work but fundamentally I think it is probably out of laziness that I don’t read something more challenging.

Amazon has put together a list of the top 100 books to reads in a lifetime. This has inspired me to try and tax myself a bit further and I will aim to read two more ‘highbrow’novels a month. Given that I read approximately 25 novels a month, this shouldn’t be too taxing, but we shall see how I fare.

My target reads from the 100 books to reads in a lifetime (excluding the children’s ones – much as I love these, I read them years ago and it wouldn’t quite fit the brief) for May to December are:

  1. Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
  2. Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy
  3. Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy – John Le Carre
  4. Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
  5. The Book Thief- Markus Zusak
  6. American Psycho – Bret Easton Ellis
  7. The English Patient – Michael Ondaatje
  8. Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks
  9. Cider with Rosie – Laurie Lee
  10. 1984 – George Orwell
  11. Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh
  12. Notes from a Small Island – Bill Bryson
  13. A History of the World in 100 Objects – Neil McGregor
  14. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas – Hunter S Thompson
  15. London Fields – Martin Amis
  16. In Cold Blood – Truman Capote

I will let you know how well I succeed in this challenge.

Leave a Reply

