Go women!

It’s International Women’s Day today which on the one hand, is definitely something to celebrate but on the other, as one of my best friends said to me “the fact that we even have to have an international women’s day shows the inequality that is still present.” I thoroughly agree with what my friend says yet still, as it has been set aside as a day to celebrate women, some girlfriends and I are heading for brunch and bellinis later on and I cannot wait.

In my lifetime, it has been drilled into the female gender from the get-go that we are equal to men and should always be treated as such but, more often than is right, there is more of a fight for this to happen rather than it occurring naturally. I’ve observed that some men think that they are the dominant of the sexes whilst forgetting the strength that women display on a daily basis –  not just the fact that I struggle to think that a man could cope with the trials and tribulations of having a baby for example.

I think because of this, women are more critical of themselves and others of the female sex. There is an element of a determination to be perfect or not necessarily perfect, but to live up to the expectations and earn the respect of those around us. Maybe I am taking this too far, but I believe that women are hard on themselves and self-critical and a lot more so than men.

But why I am more critical of women than of men? Are men more critical of their own gender than of women? Is this an inherent part of being part of one particular gender?

I don’t think I will ever be able to answer that question, but in the spirit of International Women’s Day and to decrease the guilt that I feel for being critical, I wanted to share with you some of my favourite ‘go women!’ quotes from other members of my gender.

Eleanor Roosevelt has some great ones….

“No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”
“A woman is like a tea bag – you can’t tell how strong she is until you put her in hot water.”

“Women, like men, should try to do the impossible. And when they fail, their failure should be a challenge to others.” Amelia Earhart

“Whatever women do they must do twice as well as men to be thought half as good. Luckily, this is not difficult.” Charlotte Whitton

“Women think with their whole bodies and they see things as a whole more than men do.” Dorothy Day

“It is past time for women to take their rightful place, side by side with men, in the rooms where the fates of peoples, where their children’s and grandchildren’s fates, are decided.” Hillary Clinton

There is also a fantastic Buzzfeed article of responses from celebrities when hit with overwhelmingly sexist comments – take a look.

Happy International Women’s Day

Leave a Reply

