Another brunch: Bourne & Hollingsworth Buildings

Unwittingly, all of my recent posts appear to have the subject of brunch. If you have read the post on Pedler, Rapscallion (sadly closed), New York or Avenue, you will already know my love of the brunch institution and how I am working my way through the recommended London bottomless brunches. Which is why on Sunday, some friends and I headed to the newly opened Bourne & Hollingsworth Buildings in Islington.

As I was approaching the restaurant, I definitely thought that I was in the wrong place – it’s located on a very quiet backstreet a couple of minutes from Exmouth Market. As a result, it definitely doesn’t have the wow factor on the exterior as Avenue does. On the inside though, that is another matter. I arrived slightly late so I was ushered through to meet the girls who were already making the most of the bottomless bellinis, so it took me a while to take in my surroundings. When I did, I wasn’t disappointed. The whole place feels like a cross between an old fashioned conservatory meets green house with white washed walls and wrought iron furniture. The tables, were glass-topped wrought iron and the chairs a mixture of wrought iron with colourful thread-wrapped backs and gorgeous vintage floral printed armchairs – we’re hoping that next time we can get the tables with the armchairs.

The place was heaving – clearly news has spread about this great little spot. And, the food, let me tell you, it was amazing! I had crispy potato hash with poached hens eggs, smoked salmon and hollandaise sauce and it was divine. Not content with just a savoury course, my friend and I then decided to share an incredibly decadent french toast with clotted cream, butter and honey. For fifteen pounds you were then able to have either bottomless bellinis or bloody marys and the waiting staff went round topping you up at very regular intervals. Whilst the service was a little slow, we didn’t mind as we weren’t in a hurry and it was clearly very busy. Served between ten am and four pm, the brunch menu itself is quite varied, including all of the usual brunch favourites at really reasonable prices.

In my ratings of all places brunch related at the moment, I would still maintain that Avenue is one to go for as a treat due it’s decor, location and price point whereas Bourne & Hollingsworth Buildings, whilst still being a treat, is one that I can see myself visiting very frequently over the next few months. If you choose to follow suit, I would definitely recommend booking as it was very busy.

Enjoy!

Bourne & Hollingsworth Buildings
42 Northampton Road
London
EC1R 0HU

Leave a Reply

