A new regime

My flatmate would describe me as an all or nothing type of person. If I’m on a diet, I will be extreme for a week and then will quickly forget that I ever started one. If I try and get fit then I will go the gym 5 times a week and then quickly taper off.

As a result, I wanted to declare in a public domain, a new regime. One that is attainable, livable and achievable.

Again, at my flatmate’s recommendation (she’s a wise one), I will be taking it slowly and trying to change bad habits one at a time. Rather than saying, I want to go running 4 times a week for the rest of the year, start small. Start with the now, this week and tackle it week by week.

We talked at length in our kitchen about things that I have problems with or would like to change. Money was one of the biggest – I spend without thinking a lot of the time. We calculated that I am spending approximately £200 a month on coffee and lunch.

So what’s the goal? 

Don’t buy coffee and try to take lunch in for the rest of the week. Simple right? Well, I certainly hope so. I have made lunch for the next three days and when my colleague asked if I wanted to grab a coffee with them this morning (our usual routine) I said I couldn’t and grabbed one from the free machine instead. Slow and steady wins the race. If I can do this for a couple of weeks and break the habit, then I will move onto the next habit.

I’ll let you know how I get on!

 

Photograph by Nolan Issac

Leave a Reply

