Week 20 top picks

A weekly round up of what I’ve been watching, reading, eating, drinking, listening to amongst many more…

WHAT I’M WATCHING

  • Versailles – I started watching the first season last week and have quickly whipped through the box set and am halfway through season two – a beyond addictive show
  • Ted Talk: What it takes to be a great leader: Rosalinde Torres – Recommended by a speaker at a conference I went to last week, this talk was a great one to listen to on the move.
  • Thought provoking advert for Beer? Who’d have thought it? Congrats Heineken, great advert.

WHAT I’M LISTENING TO

  • Hard Times – Paramore – this track has been permanently stuck in my head for the past two weeks
  • Alaska – Maggie Rogers – yes, the one that made Pharrell cry last year. I still love the etherealness of her voice
  • “Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming”- Album Outro – M83 – the opening theme to Versailles, so I’ve heard this consistently as I’ve been binge-watching the show
  • Telluride – Leif Vollebekk
  • Passionfruit – Drake
  • Smile Jamaica – Chronixx
  • Soon Come – Shy FX Feat. Liam Bailey
  • Check it Out – Leo Samson and Shumba Youth – you really should take heed from the title and ‘check it out’
  • Ever Fallen in Love – The Buzzcocks – a classic that never gets old
  • Symphony – Clean Bandit – guaranteed to get me on the dance floor every time
  • Sometimes – Kiko Bun

WHERE I’VE BEEN & WHERE I’M GOING

  • Pop Brixton
  • Yardbird in Clapham South for brunch – you must try the eggs benny with salmon – served on potato hash, it’s what brunch is made for
  • The London Particular – a new local find, we sat outside on Sunday enjoying the sunshine and sampling the amazing brunch bowls. You must also check out the toilets in LP Bar with the airplane doors
  • Madison for drinks
  • Berners Tavern for one of best friend’s birthdays
  • The Escapologist

WHAT I’M EATING

  • Falafel and tabbouleh salad
  • Amazing Mexican food in Brixton Village, courtesy of Jalisco
  • All the brunch – I went to two places last weekend and I have another planned for Sunday

WHAT I’M READING

  • The Curated Closet – Anushcka Rees
  • Devouring anything Paris-related in preparation for my university girls trip at the end of the month. I often turn to my most regularly read bloggers, Anneli Bush and Leslie and Emily from Cupcakes and Cashmere’s posts are amongst my favourites
  • Cookery books as I plan for a dinner party I’m throwing for the girls on Friday – currently toying with the idea of Fish Tagine from Moro, Thai red veggie curry and pan fried salmon with watercress from Nigella…decisions, decisions!
  • The House at the Edge of the Night – Catherine Banner

WHAT I’M WEARING

WHAT I’M DRINKING

  • Attempting not to drink Diet Coke – two weeks and counting
  • Skinny lattes – a few too many from Pret a Manger
  • Iced lattes from 2 Love Tea and Coffee House
  • Gin and slimline tonic which reminds me that I need to take a trip to the Punch Tavern on Fleet Street very soon for their epic selection of gin.

 

Leave a Reply

